Banana Sushi

January 25, 2008

banana-sushi.jpg

While banana sushi is no stranger to the blogosphere (1 , 2, 3) it is curious to me that a recent recipe has generated such heated discussion – all without noting three important items about this recipe: 1. you could also make it with a beer bottle, 2. it works with white bread too and 3. in Brazil they use rice so it even kinda looks like sushi.

10 Responses to “Banana Sushi”

  1. Mer Says:

    Hmm… I’m pretty sure I’ve never had banana and rice together. I may have to try this.

    Thanks for linking to my blog, by the way. :0)

  2. boldlentil Says:

    Try it? Are you kidding – I just took a picture ; ) And hey if there other earlier banana sushi posts out there they certainly deserve a link. best


  3. […] Top Posts Probably Not a BanksyPenrose StampsHow (and Why) To Use ParenthesesAlmost Perfectly Circular HolesHow to Get Dressed in the MorningAnatomy of a 1K PostReindeer TailsBanana Sushi […]

  4. ilove Says:

    I thought banana sushi was was Filipino style sushi.

  5. boldlentil Says:

    Well my understanding of banana sushi has just expanded – indeed I see there is Filipino banana sushi:

    http://miii.net/blog/2007/05/shushi-sushi-2/

    But it appears to be with a slice of banana on top – which is to say not rolled up. Next time I’m in Brazil I’ll ask them if I can get my banana sushi Filipinio style.

  6. Sadao Says:

    The most unusual sushi I’ve tried is Roast Beef sushi, but this banana sushi tops it. I’m very curious to see how it tastes.

  7. leah Says:

    I had this on my honeymoon in Feb 09 when we went to Cancun. It is awesome!!!

  8. gordon Says:

    looks yummy but do they do this kind of oyogu hone sushi?
    http://www.japansugoi.com/wordpress/sushi-chef-cutting-live-fish-oyogu-hone-video/

  9. bia Says:

    i had an avocado banana sushi roll called The Jade at SUteiSHI in NYC and it was absolutely amazing. It was made with banana tempura. Yum!


Leave a Reply

