L’Enigme by Gustave Doré

April 24, 2008

What a painting. Monochrome gloom, lifeless soldiers, smoke filled skies and in the middle a winged figure implores an expressionless sphinx. Painted in by Gustave Doré in 1871 after yet more Franco-Prussian warfare the colorless and cryptic embrace would appear to be unconvincing to a weary sphinx.

One Response to “L’Enigme by Gustave Doré”

  1. Bogdan Nemes Says:

    I saw this painting live at an exposition in my country. I was amazed… The best in the whole exposition.
    I found out that this was an artist that made a lot of engravings, and since them i’ve been collecting all his first editions that i could find.
    The engravings are stunning! I have some on my blog:

    http://antiqbooks2000.blogspot.com/search/label/Gustave%20Dore

    I hope you like them. 🙂


Leave a Reply

